Ungrounded panel in a commercial building, but outlets tester shows that they're grounded

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jordan_

Occupation
Contractor
Hello, and excuse me if I use the wrong terms- I am not an electrician! I leased a new place for my shop and I'm trying to understand if my electrical system
Here is what I know:
-It's 3 phase 208v
-the ground and the neutral are bonded in the main breaker box under the meter
-there's no grounding bus in the newer panel and there's none of the outlets has a ground wire (only hot and neutral)
-when I plug in an outlet tester it shows that the outlet is grounded correctly
What am I missing here?

Thank you
20211021-084149.jpg

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
How are you plugging an outlet tester into a 2 wire receptacle?

I also never trust those tester..,.

If everything is in conduit then there is a ground at the box but unfortunately we cannot help with correcting the issue. You will need to contact a qualified electrician

Jordan_

Occupation
Contractor
I'm not trying to correct it myself just to understand if there's anything wrong there before I call an electrician!
The outlets are 3 wire outlets but only hot and neutral connected.
And yes everything is conduit

Jordan_

Occupation
Contractor
As Dennis mentioned, metal conduit is perfectly acceptable for grounding in most installations, and the receptacles are grounded through their mounting means.
Oh ok, so I guess my next question is if the metal conduit doesn't need to be connected to ground somewhere? and also If I have for example a big fan that will need to be hard wired direct to the panel then where it'll be connected to the ground?

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician