Unbalanced service

102 Inspector

Occupation
Inspector- All facets
As an inspector, I reviewed and approved an electric meter installation as 200 Amp overhead service. Typical installation with panel directly behind meter inside the dwelling under construction. Phase conductors properly landed in panel and meter base, grounded conductor properly landed and grounding completed by 2 ground rods. Bonding screw properly installed. Electrician called this morning and indicated he was getting readings of 120 V on one phase and 208 on the second phase which apparently burned out a circuit board on a furnace. Phase to Phase he said was 240 V. It sounded like a grounded conductor (neutral) was lost, but I always thought that in that case the total of each phase would add up to the 240V expected. Why would one phase show 208V. Trying to learn, not blame.

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems
As an inspector, I reviewed and approved an electric meter installation as 200 Amp overhead service. Typical installation with panel directly behind meter inside the dwelling under construction. Phase conductors properly landed in panel and meter base, grounded conductor properly landed and grounding completed by 2 ground rods. Bonding screw properly installed. Electrician called this morning and indicated he was getting readings of 120 V on one phase and 208 on the second phase which apparently burned out a circuit board on a furnace. Phase to Phase he said was 240 V. It sounded like a grounded conductor (neutral) was lost, but I always thought that in that case the total of each phase would add up to the 240V expected. Why would one phase show 208V. Trying to learn, not blame.
Voltage readings are not helpful without knowing the reference points used for the measurement, and if they were made at the same time, as changes in the loading can impact the voltages when the neutral is lost.