Transformer for deriving neutral

Hv&Lv

Occupation
Engineer/Technician
Yes, however both sides are terminated on the wye side to create a neutral.
If the source is really a 480 delta, all you should need is a 480 wye to anything delta to generate a ground reference.

Now whether that’s legal or not, the experts here will chime in. I’m not an NEC expert

MD Automation

Occupation
Engineer
Wait…🤔

You put 480 on a 208 transformer??
If that's really the case - and the OP seems to confirm - the application of 480 VAC on a secondary designed for 208 VAC will drive each of the 3 secondary windings deep into magnetic saturation.

The windings will be very cranky and if you're lucky the mains circuit protection will open before permanent damage is done.

winnie

Occupation
Electric motor research
@304sparky , stop considering the use of a neutral deriving autotransformer for this feeder. Such a transformer really only makes sense when you have an ungrounded system which you want to ground.

Either run a neutral with your feeder if the source is a grounded wye system, or use a delta:wye isolating transformer to create a new system with a neutral. You will need a 480V:480/277V delta:wye transformer.

To everyone else still surprised by 'nothing connected to the primary' yep, that is a valid connection in rare circumstances. The wye is connected to the circuit, with X0 providing a derived neutral. The delta is there to circulate current internally and provide a path for unbalanced neutral current to draw from all 3 phases.

I've seen references to wye:delta:wye transformers where the unconnected delta provides the same low impedance neutral.

Jon

kwired

Electron manager
Can you please dumb this down for me? lol
Been mentioned a couple times, you have a coil(s) rated for 208 volts but you are applying 480 volts across them. That will result in high magnetic saturation from those coils resulting in higher current than the coil was designed to handle and overheating.