tie-switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
We have an industrial facility with two service points. There is a "tie switch" between services "A" and "B". The system is "kirk-key" controlled to prevent the tie from being closed with both services energized. Knowing the ingenuity of maintenace personnel, the "what if" question arose.
Both of the plant service transformers are fed by the same primary
line and both are phased alike, however, the impedeance is different.
In the highly unlikely event that this tie switch was ever closed with both services energized, what would be the result ?

hillbilly

I'm not a expert on transformers, so this is just a opinion.
If I read the question right, nothing would happen, there's no potential between the corresponding phase conductors of each transformer.
Either that or something really big happens.
steve

zog

The key interlock system is installed because your main breakers could not interupt a fault with both transformers in paralell. If you have two 3000kVA transformer they each can put out about 50,000A of fault current, so with both mains and the tie closed you have about 100,000A of available fault current. Your main breakers probally have interuption ratings of 50,000 to 65,000A. The results could be catastrophic.

Your guys need to be trained on the operation and hazards of your power system to be permitted to even enter that substation per OSHA 1910.269 (b).

kingpb

Occupation
Engineer, Registered
With the impedances of the transformers different, you would have circulating currents. The current is added to the load current, so if either transformer were loaded very heavily, you could get into a situation where you are overloading the transformer. The higher current also contributes to a higher I^2R loss.

Also, the transformers would not share the load equally.