Tesla PwrWall/Gateway shutdowns

Status
Not open for further replies.

caribconsult

Occupation
Retired computer consultant
We have a recent (2018) Tesla Powerwall /Gateway setup with 21 panels and it works about 99% correctly. We are essentially "off grid." We have grid but it is not full-time connected to the gateway. So we are normally running on the battery, which is charging correctly during daylight hours, the panels go off and on according to the battery %, and if we don't get enough sunlight, we can switch on the grid for 2--3 hours, and that will power the house and charge the battery at the same time. ALL THAT WORKS CORRECTLY, and has been working consistently for over 3 months now. The app shows readings consistent with our observations. I'm not trying to blow my horn here, just want to state at I am an engineer (industrial) and am pretty well familiar with household electrical operation and I understand volts, amps, watts, kilowatthours, etc.

The 1% incorrect is the battery either shuts itself down or is shut down by the gateway at various erratic times. We are not overloading the system according to the app, and the shutdown is NOT load-independent, can happen at any time of the night or day under light (0.6kw) or heavy (~5kw) load. Then the system generally resets itself within a few seconds or a few minutes and the power returns. How do I know this? Both my wife and I have seen the whole house go dark for a brief time, then all the lights go back on, and the log file in my computer's UPS confirms the AC failure and resumption time and date. We'll get up in the moring and all the digital clocks in the house will be blinking, meaning there was a overnight power failure, usually in the UPS log as well. Weeks can go by without this happening and then there will be a burst of these, 7-8 within half an hour. Tesla cannot fully explain this, and the installers are even less informed.