Swimming Pool Submerged Light

Status
Not open for further replies.

KenMac

Occupation
Electrician
I recently had an in-ground pool installed. The pool builder was a local contractor and he did a good job with the pool, but the electrical installation was not up to code standards, so I had to totally rewire the electrical installation (I have been a Licensed Master Electrician since 2016). Since I live out in the country, we do not have building codes or Inspectors to enforce them. In question is the submersible light that was installed in the pool has type SJTW electrical cable on it coming back to the transformer panel in gray pvc conduit which stays full of water till it turns up the wall to the transformer. According to NEC 680.56(B), Table 400.4 this cable is not legal for being submerged in water. I asked the pool builder about this and he questioned his Pool Equipment Distributor, which commented that this cable is what all the other pool builders are using and that it has worked for years. So, no one is willing to replace the cable with the correct cable. Is my interpretation of this article and table correct?

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Inside a conduit should be considered wet location so the cord is legit IMO. Now, was the conduit sealed with a potting compound?

KenMac

Occupation
Electrician
As a side question, does this conduit from the pool terminate in a pool light J -Box as required?
Yes, the problem that bothers me is per the 2014 NEC 680.56(B) states that the flexible cord immersed in water shall be a type for extra hard usage. But per table 400.4 the existing cable (type SJTW) is designated for hard usage.

KenMac

Occupation
Electrician
The conduit from the light is not sealed at the light so the water in the conduit rises and lowers with the pool water level. So the cable is always submerged.

texie

Occupation
Electrician, Contractor, Inspector