Stand alone solar power system

Status
Not open for further replies.

g-and-h_electric

Occupation
supervising electrician
Hey guys I need a bit of help with a newly installed stand alone solar power system, and I have NEVER done one of these before. Apologies for sounding like a DIY'er, but this got "dumped" on me, and I am lost!

Let me start off with I did NOT design, engineer, or purchase what is there, I was told it was sold as a complete system. The system was purchased from an online vendor,

There are 4 2x4' panels connected to give 24 V output ( I dont have the spec on them yet). These are connected to a charge controller, which then goes to the batteries (2x100Ah in series)...... so far so good right?

The batteries are then connected DIRECTLY to the 1000W inverter, which is running at max 300w of load (the load is a small cell transmitter, and flow controls for some sewage monitoring stuff).

The problem is that in Chicago we have had a LOT of overcast days lately, and the battery voltage is down to 22.1, the inverter went into a fault mode which I think was low voltage

My questions are this: 1) should the inverter come off the charge controller as opposed to directly off the batteries?, 2) Based upon the connected load, would a smaller, say 600W inverter be more efficient for this application, seeing as we have a dedicated and known load?

What Am I missing????

Howard

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
The inverter must come directly off the batteries rather than off a controlled output of the charge controller (CC). Many CCs have a controlled output which can be programmed for a variety of uses, including turning it on only when the panels are not supplying power (night lighting) or only when the battery voltage is above a fixed or programmable minimum value.