Smoldering fires starting inside walls with no conductors within approx 10 feet of the fire,

Status
Not open for further replies.

Waldemar

Occupation
Fire Investigator
Fires occurring on typically humid days. Suspecting improper grounding or leakage current. HELP... I have been investigating fires for 21 years in a large city and these have been occurring about 20/year.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
There is a theory that over time low level electrical current passing though wood can result in pyrophoric carbonization that can result in a fire.

Last edited:

hbiss

EC, Westchester, New York NEC: 2014
Occupation
EC
Fires occurring on typically humid days. Suspecting improper grounding or leakage current.

Going to need a lot more forensic information than that to even make a guess. Have you determined an origin for any of these suspect fires? How do you know about the "smoldering within walls". I assume the smoldering was a precursor to the actual fire?

-Hal

Last edited:

synchro

Occupation
EE
Were there any metallic structural elements like beams, trusses, etc. in the vicinity of where the fire started?
Or as was mentioned any metallic reinforcement like steel mesh, corners, etc.?

Mold growth on organic matter like hay has been known to produce sufficient heating to cause fires when the moisture content was relatively high.

WasGSOHM

Occupation
EE
10' sounds like a non-electrical cause but leakage current can be checked.

Having seen 400 of these, what else stands out?

Sticking pins in a city map may show clusters.

Making a histogram of
month vs. # of fires
may show a spike.

Heating Degree Days is on the Web for many cities but maybe the National Weather Service can provide you a map of
month vs. Relative Humidity. They should talk to you, it's your tax dollars at work.

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member