Removing a Solar System

Status
Not open for further replies.

grich

Occupation
Broadcast Engineer
I'm not an electrician, but I suppose I would throw all of the breakers on the solar stuff, disconnect the PV array, disconnect the batteries, then remove everything. If it's not too butchered up, you could keep the transfer panel and install a 30A generator inlet in place of the inverter.

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
If you have only the one panel you probably do not need to worry about hazardous DC voltages. With a long string going to an inverter and no experience with this particular equipment I would suggest unplugging the array components at night.

Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk

Little Bill

Staff member
Occupation
Semi-Retired Electrician
I hope you're not saying that like I heard in a story. Earl & Bubba were talking and Earl said that Astronauts were planning a trip to the Sun. Bubba said "they can't do that, the Sun would burn them up."
Earl said "No it won't, they're going at night"!

Little Bill

Staff member
Occupation
Semi-Retired Electrician
Thanks all!
That's the way I had thought it should be. I didn't mention this in my OP, but should have, I was ask to disconnect it so that it would be safe for someone else to remove the system. The customer is giving this to his son who is going to move it. Most likely, I will be the one reinstalling it so I wanted to make sure it was, first of all safe, then to see how it's wired so that I can put it back.

hbiss

EC, Westchester, New York NEC: 2014
Occupation
EC
Only place that belongs is in the dumpster. There is nothing about that that is safe or done anywhere near properly.

And from the size of that panel, probably a waste of time. Probably some DIY junk off the internet.

-Hal

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
The Outback inverter is probably quality equipment worth salvaging, but not necessarily to be used in rebuilding the same system.