Question on grounding rod for solar PV over two structures on the same property

jaggedben

Occupation
Solar and Energy Storage Installer
My takeaway from the above is not seeing a compelling electrical safety reason to get involved questioning using building #2 as a passive mounting rack for the solar. Here I have the choice of saying nothing....
I'd feel better if building #2 had a lighting focused ground rod.

I'm assuming you mean lightNing when you say lighting. You mean an auxiliary ground rod for the solar array on building #2? I think that is a bad idea that misunderstands how lightning works. I'm no lightning protection expert, but I largely formed my opinion on this from this Mike Holt video from a few years back. Understand that just adding ground rods if you don't know what you're doing does not necessarily help avoid lightning damage and may make it worse. This has been put in and taken out of the code which explains how 690.47 evolved as it did.

ggunn

PE (Electrical), NABCEP certified
Occupation
Consulting Electrical Engineer - Photovoltaic Systems
No, they are most certainly not. A service is a single circuit connection to a utility. That connection may be branched to multiple service disconnects that each have a meter.
See for example: https://www.gordonelectricsupply.co...er-Mp-Device-Ringless-125A-6-Position/5711484

Additionally, the NEC has a definition of a service and the NEC doesn't give a f--- if it's metered or not. The NEC prohibits multiple services to a building in most cases, without regard to how many occupancies one might wish to be separately metered. Every building with multiple meters that I've looked at closely had one service.