Quartz Halogen portable Lights

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmellc

Occupation
Facility Maintenance Tech. Licensed Electrician
I have never much liked quartz halogen lights. I do like their brightness but that is their only plus, IMHO. Lamps are too easily broken, often don’t seat well & make too much heat.

jmellc

Occupation
I was trying to edit this & my 5 minute limit expired. Couldn’t even delete it.
I hope our bosses will phase out our quartz halogen portable lights with LED’s. The LED lights I am seeing also look more compact & easier to store in cabinets. We keep them stored for long periods then need them quickly for emergencies.
Any favorites you guys have seen or used?

paulengr

Really? Did your boss buy the last pallet of quartz lights from China? I haven’t seen those on any work crews in a couple years. I’m a service contractor so I see pretty much everything that everybody is using. I live in the South though so we don’t need a 150 W heater that doubles as a light source.

I have Milwaukee tools. Their lights are pricey but worth it. Get two rovers and two 6 Ah batteries and it will keep any large enclosure well lit all day. Get two rockets if you want area lighting. It’s expensive but since Quartz lights are disposable you will end up saving money after six months just on replacements. Plus no cords to mess with, receptacles to find, panic when you have to cut off the main breaker.

Mist of them are using Cree LEDs. The chip plant is in Durham, NC. No more dough for communists.

NE (9.06 miles @5.9 Degrees from Winged Horses)
Occupation
EC - retired
We haven't used Quartz since CFLs came about. Even as poor as those were it was better than fighting replacement lamps and the generated heat.

We still have a customer that will not give up his 1500 watt quartz floods. He pays us to climb his bins to replace the lamps every few months. He won't climb them.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician