Protection for a 480 volt machine

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a forge machine that has heating probes that will heat up dies. Once in awhile the probes will go bad and because we have a 480 delta system with no neutral, the bad probe will create fluctuations in the voltages on the lines throughout the plant. This last round I had 400 plus volts on each of two lines to ground and another line with about 60 volts to ground. I was suggesting that we get an isolation transformer for that machine so that I could give it its own neutral. Is their another solution that might be cheaper but still at least keep the issue to that machine.

I am still learning some of the terminology, I can tell you that one of the first 480 panels that is inside the building that the outside transformer feeds first has a ground to it so I would say we have a grounded system.

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
I am still learning some of the terminology, I can tell you that one of the first 480 panels that is inside the building that the outside transformer feeds first has a ground to it so I would say we have a grounded system.
A grounded system is one in which the current carrying circuit conductors have a solid reference to ground voltage. Even an ungrounded system will have a safety ground connection for the enclosure and non current carrying parts. The main justification for an ungrounded system is that a short to ground, as with your heating probes, will not trip a breaker and shut down the process catastrophically (like in a system where molten product will harden in the machines.) You need to look at the risks of an unplanned power loss.

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems
I am still learning some of the terminology,

Terminology is very important. Incorrect usage can end up with incorrect answers and overlooked opportunities.

What does the nameplate on your service entrance equipment say?