proper way to repair over-stripped wire insulation

Status
Not open for further replies.

68Malibu383

Hi,
I am a home inspector and noted a wire outside of a junction box that had about an extra 8" of romex removed before the junction box. Wondering if installing heavy shrink wrap over the wires is ok that overlaps onto the romex and then goes into the box. This was the repair method. Thanks!

A/A Fuel GTX

Occupation
Electrician
Technically it's probably fine but getting down to legal issues, I'm sure that would violate the listing of the cable assembly. I would cut the part in question out, add a junction box and run a new piece of NM-B to the existing junction box. Then you're 100% compliant.

jxofaltrds

Inspector Mike®
Occupation
ESI, PI, RBO
Hi,
I am a home inspector and noted a wire outside of a junction box that had about an extra 8" of romex removed before the junction box. Wondering if installing heavy shrink wrap over the wires is ok that overlaps onto the romex and then goes into the box. This was the repair method. Thanks!

I would have no problem if the repair met:

334.116 Sheath. The outer sheath of nonmetallic-sheathed
cable shall comply with 334.116(A), (B), and (C).
(A) Type NM. The overall covering shall be flame retardant
and moisture resistant.
(B) Type NMC. The overall covering shall be flame retardant,
moisture resistant, fungus resistant, and corrosion
resistant.
(C) Type NMS. The overall covering shall be flame retardant
and moisture resistant. The sheath shall be applied so
as to separate the power conductors from the communications
conductors.

As a HI I think that what you do is of a great service to the public. Being an inspector from a state that limits what non-electrical inspectors can say may I suggest that you craft your answers to keep you as a Generalist and not cross that line as acting as an expert. Understand?

K8MHZ

Michigan. It's a beautiful peninsula, I've looked
Occupation
Electrician

and moisture resistant.
resistant.