Powerwall and Solar Provisions for Future

Status
Not open for further replies.

mkgrady

I'm getting ready to wire an entire home renovation/addition. It's on old BIG Victorian house on the coast of Massachusetts. The plans call for provisions for a future powerwall and solar. For the solar they spell out an empty conduit from the basement where the main panels will be to the roof. For the powerwall they just say make provisions.

I have no experience installing solar or power walls and I won't be involved in the future installations. I did wire a Tesla car charger at this location and that charger will become part of the final installed wiring. Right now it is powered from a temporary service that also feeds temporary power for construction. The service for the house is specified as 400 amp. My plan is to use two 200 amp main panels. Part of the reason for the 400 (320 continuous) is the car charger. They were also talking about maybe a snow melt system for the driveway. I'm thinking they are expecting to get more out of the solar than is possible. Not much of the roof faces south and some of them are cone shaped like is often seen in old victorian homes.

A couple of interesting things about the job is that they are doing their HVAC from geothermal and that this very large house has been jacked up, had new foundation walls and footings and has been lowered back down. They went from having a 4-7 foot basement to having a ten foot basement height.

My question about the solar conduit is what size I should consider. Even if they can cram a lot more panels up on the roof that seems possible is 1-1/4 likely large enough? Do I just run it up through the roof and put a cap on it and a rubber boot flashing fitting> Should it be near the bottom of the roof slope or near the top?