PLC output for 120v horn

Learn the NEC with Mike Holt now!
Status
Not open for further replies.

travmad804

I am a newly licensed electrician but still green to a lot of things, espescially when it comes to PLCs. I was given the task of wiring an audible alarm from a 120V output card on the PLC. I know what slot and what output terminal it should land on. Im assuming the PLC will give a signal when the alarm fault shows up for the horn to activate until the alarm is silenced at the HMI manually. My question is do I need a relay or anything in line with the horn? Or is it that when the fault arrives it puts 120V on that terminal directly as an output on the PLC card itself and that is enough to sound the horn alone?

Attachments

• plc1.jpg
    plc1.jpg
    226 KB · Views: 55
  • Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    59.1 KB · Views: 55

b1miller

Occupation
Electrician/Electrical Administrator/SCADA Engineer
Depending on the type of horn you may want to use an interposing relay. A 120VAC claxon type of horn can be electrically noisy.

GeorgeB

ElectroHydraulics engineer (retired)
Occupation
Retired
If I'm the electrician and have that drawing, I'm expected to wire it per the drawing. If I'm smart and see that it draws more current than the module is rated to supply, I should request an updated design/print. Trying to troubleshoot undocumented field modifications is difficult.

jusme123

Occupation
JW
Adding a relay may lesson your liability if something goes haywire in that panel, relays draw next to nothing, but isolates the horns load to that particular really, JMO

drktmplr12

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
someone should verify that the contacts are rated for the specified horn. ask engineering or whoever gave you that drawing to verify. best practice is an interposing relay.

gadfly56

Occupation
Professional Engineer, Fire & Life Safety