Piece work vs. hourly wage

Status
Not open for further replies.

drwill

I am new to my business and only need my self and one helper. however by the end of this year i plan on needing to hire more crew people. I live in Texas and am paying my helper $10/hr(brother in law). What are some good pay rates for different levels of experience, and how does that work with piece work. do you pay piece work by rough in ,by square ft, or per opening.

any and all info on how this works will be greatly appreciated.

thanks drwill

highkvoltage

Re: Piece work vs. hourly wage

Piece work pay has a few problems. Lets say you have a guy that can rough a house 10% faster than another guy put the second guy has less problems to troubleshoot? And what if one guy can do the rough in fast but is slow on the finish? Then you have the disgruntle employee that is jealous he is making less than other employees. To many headaches!

George Stolz

Staff member
Occupation
Service Manager

In a small company, you might be able to make it work. In the medium sized company I'm in, it's tricky because it's hard to get the guy who roughed it back into the same house to trim it. That is really the only fair way for it to work, because of the variables mentioned above.

For it to work well:
</font>
  • <font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">The guy who roughed it trims it. Any mistakes he makes he's paying for, not you.</font>
  • <font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">The smaller the crew the more attractive the pay. More than one guy on piecework is trickier for them to make cash.</font>