phone hook-up

Status
Not open for further replies.

beegee

This may sound stupid to some, but I'm an electrician with very little experience when in comes to wiring for phones. On the houses I've wired, there have always been different(low voltage) crews that came in and wired the phone, cable, etc. My question is this. I'm finishing my basement and I have a phone cable running from the upstairs, across the basement, and back upstairs. Can I tap into it and run a parallel line to my phone jack box? Or, do I have to hook it up in series(run 2 wires to my box)? Like I said, I'm pretty green when it comes to this, so any help is appreciated.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
Re: phone hook-up

Beegee, it doesn't sound stupid at all.

You can "T Tap" into your phone lines, they do not have to be, nor should they be in series.

Roger

George Stolz

Staff member
Occupation
Service Manager

...although you might have fewer hardships in the long run if you pull a fresh line from outside, and/or pick a centralized location (say, next to the furnace or under the stairs) to junction several phone lines.

Just a suggestion... :)

M

mkoloj

The best thing is to run a new cable from where the service enters the house, otherwise you could end up starting the rats nest or basket weaving as some like to say. Put up a 66 block and you can neatly do all your terminations on that instead of the taps into the existing cable. Much easier to make changes and troubleshoot.

dereckbc

Staff member

As long as you are only going to use it for POTS (plain old telephone service) you can "T" tap it. Just keep in mind if you want to put a dial-up modem or DSL on the extension, you just limited the bandwidth by using a "T" tap

rjfrankn

I am new to this forum. I am a network engineer. I am pleased to see the correct response to DSL notion on a tapped line in this area; Elec's are learning new skills-just not enough of them-job insurance.