new house wiring

Status
Not open for further replies.

shelco

Guys (and girls)
I have been requested by a good customer to wire his new home. I have done mostly industrial and commercial work so i have little experience in pricing resi work. Is there a basic rule of thumb for pricing this? If i estimate it the same as ind. work it will be way out of whack.
I do have some men that are experienced in doing resi work so that is not an issue.
i realize that this is a wide open question but any help would be appreciated. Any sources that may help?
Shelco

[ June 02, 2005, 07:45 AM: Message edited by: shelco ]

jeff43222

Re: new house wiring

Someone once posted that his rule of thumb is to bid the electric at 4-7% of the price of the new house, and add a few % for extras.

I've never bid a new house, just remodel jobs, and I can say that that 4-7% range is also the ballpark I generally operate in. I just did a full kitchen remodel plus a 100->200A service upgrade with outside disconnect, and my gross revenue on the job was about 8.5% of what the homeowner paid the GC. After I got the job, the GC showed me the bid from another EC; it was about 9% of the total.

mdshunk

If you bid the way I bid, and you're not famaliar with resi work, you'll be working for free. Would the guy (since he's a friend) let you do it on T&M?

shelco

I don't really want to do this but he is a good customer. If i do it t&m and it gets too expensive i run the risk of ticking him off so i would rather do it for no profit and keep the cash flow of his business comming in. The price of doing business I guess.

growler