new electrician wants invoicing software

Ellie03

Occupation
av installation
Hi, im a new electrician and i would like some simple invoicing software to use when i start trading so if anyone can recommend one that'd be great

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
I used quickbooks but if money is an issue I have been told that Wave is pretty good and it is free. I have never used it

mtnelect

HVAC & Electrical Contractor
Occupation
Contractor, C10 & C20 - Semi Retired
I use QuickBooks Pro - Online ... It just had a price increase to $30.00 and Intuit Payment Solutions $19.95.

kwired

Electron manager
Quickbooks can be as simple or as complex as you want it to be. It definitely can do pretty much all your accounting needs if you want it to, and if willing to pay for some services can even send invoicing, pay bills, do your payroll if you have it, send 1099's to subs, etc. Just about can file your income taxes, though Intuit the parent company does specialize in income tax software and AFAIK will can transfer information for tax time if set up right as well.

Mr. Serious

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
I used Wave for a few months, but got frustrated at some of its limitations. After having used Quickbooks Online for almost a year now, I realize it also has limitations. But a lot of times, what you want to do is already programmed in, it just takes learning how Quickbooks wants you to do things. And sometimes, with both Wave and Quickbooks, if you find something not possible to do in the accounting program, it might be because they recommend against managing your money that way to start with.

Example, there's no easy way to use a personal account to purchase inventory and count it as a capital contribution to the business - but that's probably because they would prefer you make your capital contribution as an entirely separate transaction for transparency reasons, to be less likely to get in trouble with tax regulations.

kwired