Neutral - ground bond...clarification?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I do not consider myself a bonified electrician. I have an associates degree in maintenance electricity from an acreddited trade school, but do not have the benefit of years of experience in the trade.

I was browsing thru some archived posts and stumbled onto a thread that provoked some thought.

The thread concerns emergency generators (residential application). I recently had to use mine and while I was talking with one of the power company employees he mentioned that he could tell that I had been running a generator.I asked him if he read voltage or current with a meter or some other instrument and he just said that he could tell that there was something back feeding. It had been raining out very strongly and the ground was saturated.

I figure he was reading some current returning on the grounded conductor as I do not have the type of transfer switch that switches the neutral (I believe) It's a gentran model.

Ok...my questions: While reading through some archived posts I came across a thread that talked about whether or not the grounded conductor should be swithched in order to prevent backfeed onto that conductor. It was stated that if the neutral was bonded to the generator than the grounded conductor from the premises wiring must be switched in order to prevent the backfeed.

If I have an unsafe installation then I want to correct it. I didn't perform the original installation.

Also, on my generator,(it is a 5000 watt devilbiss) the two receptacles on the genny are three prong, but where the twist lock connector plugs in at the gentran xfer switch it's four prongs...obviously one blade of the receptacle on the xfer switch is not being used. Why is the xfer switch receptacle provided with four blades?

Ed MacLaren

Re: Neutral - ground bond...clarification?

Jim, the switching of the neutral is not done to prevent "backfeeds".