NEC 210.20 (A) clarification.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Occupation
Industrial Electrician
Hello. This is my first time posting to this forum. As I was reading through 2020 NEC 210.20 (A) today, I am not sure if I'm overthinking something or not. The part of this Article that I'm having trouble with is the latter half "...the rating of the overcurrent protection device shall not be less than the noncontinuous load plus 125 percent of the continuous load." With almost 40 years in the trade, every time I saw this stated in the Code this way, I automatically would size the OCPD for 125%. But what I'm reading - clarify this please - is (paraphrasing) "...shall not be less than the noncontinuous load (100% of whatever this value may be) PLUS 125 percent of the continuous load (125% of whatever this value may be). Simple math - 100% of 1 + 125% of 1 = 2.25% I know there are other Code Sections where this type of wording is also used. Am I missing something or is this wording misleading me, and does it need to be changed? Your advice and opinions are appreciated. Thank You.

wwhitney

Occupation
Retired
All load noncontinuous = 100% * 1 + 125% * 0 = 100%
All load continuous = 100% * 0 + 125% * 1 = 125%
Half the load continuous = 100% * 0.5 + 125% * 0.5 = 112.5%
Etc.

Cheers, Wayne

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
I don't have a 2020 Code but that appears to be the same wording as the 2014 & 2017.
I'm not clear which part of that is bothering you.
Your background being industrial, you may not be accustomed to sizing conductors (210.19) and OCP (210.20) at 100% of the non-continuous load but it is allowed by Code keeping in mind the Code is a "minimum standard" an often uncommon term in industrial settings.

kwired

Electron manager