Meter Main and water meter bonding

Status
Not open for further replies.
Occupation
Electrician
Quick question. I’m new to doing service changes. Did a walk through today and we’ll be bringing conductors down from the point if attachment in 2” pvc, to a 200amp meter main. Is it accurate to consider everything past that breaker to the main panel as if it were a sub panel and grounds and neutrals are now separate? Does it also mean the water meter grounding electrode should be brought back to the meter? The journeyman I walked through with today said several things, corrected himself then changed his mind again. I’m just an apprentice and a bit hesitant to question him outright.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Is it accurate to consider everything past that breaker to the main panel as if it were a sub panel and grounds and neutrals are now separate?
Yes.

Does it also mean the water meter grounding electrode should be brought back to the meter?
Yes.

The journeyman I walked through with today said several things, corrected himself then changed his mind again. I’m just an apprentice and a bit hesitant to question him outright.
Tell him you want to learn; that you're not questioning him.

DrSparks

The Everlasting Know-it-all!
Occupation
Master Electrician and General Contractor
You'd just throw a couple ground rods in and the meter. You can bond the water main/meter to the equipment ground bus in your sub panel.

Sent from my BE2028 using Tapatalk

Mod augie47 CAUTION See Post #5 Below

Last edited by a moderator:

Greentagger

Occupation
Master Electrician, Electrical Inspector
250.24(A)(1). Electrodes to be terminated at service equipment.

Occupation
Electrician
Yes.

Yes.

Tell him you want to learn; that you're not questioning him.

Ok so I’m not crazy? Thank you for the confirmation.