Luminaire Wiring

Status
Not open for further replies.

d2568maaee

I am an Electrical Engineer and one of the types of designs I perform are roadway lighting systems. During a recent field inspection of one of the systems I designed, I had the contractor provide me with pictures of the internal wiring of 1 of the LED luminaires so I could verify luminaire models numbers and also visually inspect the contractors terminations within the luminaire housing. The luminaires are 480 volt requiring the 2 phase and 1 equipment grounding conductor. I have attached picture of the internal terminations inside the luminaire housing. The contractor terminated the Black and Red phase and Green ground conductors to the manufacturer's pre-wired terminal block. The manufacturer's pre-wired connections on other side of the terminal block include a Black, Green and White.

My concern is that NEC 200.7 does not permit the use of white or gray conductor insulation for ungrounded conductors in a raceway, even if the conductors are permanently re-identified. As you can see from the picture, the Red phase conductor terminates to the manufacturer's pre-wired White conductor.

Does the use of the manufacturer's pre-wired White conductor as shown connected in the attached picture violate NEC?

Comments are greatly appreciated.

Michael A. Armentor, P.E.
Illumination & Electrical Design Engineer

Attachments

• Luminaire Wiring Connections.jpg
    Luminaire Wiring Connections.jpg
    91.7 KB · Views: 32

Coppersmith

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
The NEC does not cover a manufactured product. The manufacturer would have gone through a separate process to get that product listed.

d2568maaee

Ok. So is it safe for me to assume that its OK for a contractor to connect the Red phase conductor and move on to more other critical issues? I spoke to the contractor as was going to have them Red phase tape the whites anyway, but that's where I saw the NEC issue where we can't.

Coppersmith