LED with ballasts, spider box 120v keeps tripping powered by a 20KVA Diesel generator

Status
Not open for further replies.

jhoust

Occupation
Apprentice
I'm just an apprentice, be merciful.

Here is the set up:

Power source is a 20KVA Diesel Generator with a total of 5 circuits drawing power from it, all lighting (nothing crazy no power tools running or motors).

~50 ft SO 6/4 feeding the spider box, the spider box has 1 extension 14g 50ft (simple enough)

I have a lighting circuit with 4 can lights and 3 LED light strips (drywall recessed, bathroom)

I ran power off the extension cord to my switch leg and it tripped. I checked each LED light and they work (individually).

I isolated the problem to the LED strips after simplifying my circuit, it's literally just wire MC going to the LED strips.

Here is the problem?:

When I energize just 1 LED the spider box doesn't trip, but when I put two LED strips, it trips immediately.

The LED lights are electronic ballast and they are about 10ft longest (2 are joined to make that length) and the other LED strip is 6 ft with a 1ft extension. These things work when I power them individually.

I don't know how the ballasts were wired, I didn't wire them, but they are suppose to be powered 208-240v? from utility and I am giving them 120v from site generator.

Questions:

Why did my spider box trip? 20amp

Would harmonics play a roll in this problem, why or why not? Generator vs Utility?

What roll do the ballasts play in my problem, are they the cause of my grief? In-rush of current?

What is happening in my circuit? Too much work (amps) and not enough juice (voltage)?

Remarks:

It's not a dead short.

Thank you for looking at my problem. If you want clarification on anything I will respond in the morning, I'm going to bed.

Seriously thank you if you are going to respond to me.

suemarkp

Occupation
Retired Engineer