Installation of generator 400 amp ATS service rated

Status
Not open for further replies.

ricksan76

I've been a residential electrical contractor for years, and I'm just now getting into generators and I wanted to pick some brains around here and see how other electricians would go about installing a transfer switch into this scenario in the picture. It's a 400 amp semi-flush, underground fed main panel POCO wiring is in conduit coming up through the cement slab obviously inside the wall, and into the left section of the meter main combo. Surface mount mains are easy and simple, but what method would you use in this application, and how would you do it? What would be the simplest least amount of damage to the area way of doing this? Any help would be appreciated. My thoughts are adding a meter socket box to the left of it, then the ATS to the left of that. My issue is getting in and out of the wall with 400 amps. It's likely 3" conduit coming up for POCO.

Attachments

• 400 amp meter main combo dhowing more area.jpg
    400 amp meter main combo dhowing more area.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 35
  • 400 amp meter main combo.jpg
    400 amp meter main combo.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 35

Buck Parrish

When you said 400 I expected to see two 200 amp disconnects. Do you only have one 200 amp panel?
It has a sticker stating Unicorn . That's a breaker styled like a Federal Pacific.

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
I would explore intercepting the wiring inside the building.

What's behind the wall where the feeder and the LB seem to meet up?

Buck Parrish

It looks like their may be a panel behind the panel, 230.72 violation. If so pull it back out bring it to the left of the gas meters set the ats their and just refeed the inside panel. Just speculating.

Todd0x1