inspector

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ram1013

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
I'm new to the forum and I am looking for some advice on an issue I'm having. I'm a licensed electrical contractor in the state of New Jersey and perform various electrical jobs throughout the state. There is a town in particular where the inspector is always looking for something to fail every job on. It's a bit of a long standing joke in the town that there inspectors fail every job. I have actually been told by the inspector that they always look for a reason to fail a job a few years back.

I will preface this with the fact that Coronavirus is spreading so I'm aware that inspections have been different lately.

We are currently having an issue with a pool installation. He failed us for not using a direct burial bug. The bug was clearly stamped "DB" I think he didn't want to bend over and look. I actually had a photo form when I installed it because I knew it was something he might bring up. After I sent he picture and a cut sheet for the actual connector (which he requested) he then failed it for not having the trench visible. the trench was 20" deep and dug with a ditch witch. The circuit had GFI protection at the panel so it was well below where it needed to be. The customer did place some blocks over an area because he has small children. After resolving this issue we scheduled an inspection for inside.

The inspector failed it again. Didn't even enter the home and said he cant come in due to coronavirus. No mention of this was made ahead of time or when we scheduled the inspection. He just left a red sticker. He then proceeded to ask for pictures. No problem, I get it, nobody wants to risk getting sick. We sent him out pictures of everything. He failed it again and asked for more specific pictures. Fine, we sent him a detailed email including videos, and pictures of everything he asked for.