How to get into EE Design

Status
Not open for further replies.

RoninEE

Hi guys,

I recently stumbled onto your forum by doing a Google search on taking the EIT/FE exam because I wanted to get into a design position at the local utility company or any of the electrical contracting firms in the area. Well my current situation is as follows. I graduated a few years ago with a BSEE and my emphasis of study was in communications. I currently work as a manufacturing engineer that makes research and OEM equipment, basically I have no experience with power distribution, transmission, etc., but I am very interested in the field. Essentially I want to get out of manufacturing and get into either working for a utility company or an electrical contracting firm. How do I get my foot in the door to break into this field? Would it even make a difference if I passed the EIT exam with no experience? Is obtaining the EIT a start? What other measures can I take in order to make myself a better canidate? Your thoughts are greatly appreciated.

kingpb

Occupation
Engineer, Registered
Pass the EIT, then work to get the experience to take the PE. The experience will need to be under the supervision of a registered engineer, so if you go to a Contractor, make sure it's one that has a PE on staff. This will be necessary to verify your engineering experience on the application for the PE. If you have no intention of becoming a PE, don't bother getting the EIT. You will cap out in wages and responsibility pretty quick with no PE, but hey, maybe that's ok.

jtester

There is little in common between utility design and commercial building design except that electrons flow in both systems. The approach to design is different, the systems are different, the rules are different, etc. The basic thought process is different.

I struggled for a few years after I left the utility design world and entered commercial building design because the rules are so different.