How do I determine correct ground

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi:

I am not an electrician and I have a very basic knowledge about electrical systems. I need some advice. Here is my situation.

I have an office in an old house in Bogota SA. The wiring is old and contains no grounding system. I had a local electrical contractor install an exterior electrical system in all of the offices. We added a ground to this new system by driving a long copper rod into the earth and then through the panel and to the new system. We use this new system exclusively for our work stations (computer, lighting and occasionally a 1500 watt heater.).

We have grown to around 15 work stations and now another contractor is telling me we need to add a second ground. I have asked why, but I get a non technical answer. Additionally it is very common for contractors to be misleading here in South America

Can anyone please give me some guidance?
Thanks
Martin

{Moderator's Note: Edited to remove personal contact information. If you wish to contact this person, please send a Private Message.}

[ November 26, 2005, 02:36 AM: Message edited by: charlie b ]

john m. caloggero

Re: How do I determine correct ground

Having presented NEC seminars in South America for the past 20 yrs. Grounding of electrical systems at the service is something that is neglected and ignored. It would usually take me two days of teaching to get them to understand the necessity of proper grounding, especially when it comes to computer systems.
Where a second electrical system is installed, it is absolutely necessary to make sure that all systems are bonded together, including communications and CATV systems. This will minimize voltage differential between the systems during lightning storms or high voltage cross overs.