"'Homerun'" definition

Status
Not open for further replies.

Elecestim123

Occupation
Electrical Estimator
Hello all,

New to the forum. I'm also new to being an estimator. Working on a bigger project so I need to make sure I'm taking this off correctly. Engineer is allowing MC cable for branch circuits, but not for Homeruns. 'Homerun' isn't defined in the specs, and I know the NEC doesn't define it.

Typically I would think the 'Homerun' is the conduit and wire from the breaker to the very first device in the circuit. However, if I have several (Let's say 3 for this example) circuits in (1) conduit from the panel, is only the conduit and wire from the panel to the first device in the first circuit the 'Homerun'? Or is the 'Homerun' the conduit and wire from the panel ALL THE WAY down to the very first device in the LAST (3rd) circuit after also hitting the first device in the 1st and 2nd circuit?

Hopefully that question makes sense

Last edited:

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
You're correct, definitions of a home run will vary depending on who you ask. The only person that can answer your question is the guy who wrote the spec. but having said that I can give you the definition that we would use. It's the part of the branch circuit that goes from the OCPD to the first junction point, that could be at a receptacle box, a switch, or a junction box. We typically run EMT homeruns from the panel to a point in the ceiling where there would be a junction box. The tubing would have several circuits and they would branch out from the home run box in the ceiling.

Welcome to the Forum. :)

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Yes, welcome. Your question made perfect sense.

I agree that it apples to the first J-box. It sounds like they don't want MC coming out of the panel(s).

Elecestim123

Occupation
Electrical Estimator