Help understanding tap rule?

Status
Not open for further replies.

t_ray7

Occupation
Designer
Hello all, forgive my ignorance on this topic but I can't seem to fully wrap my head around the tap rules. I am a control panel designer and have a special instance where we need to put in two distribution blocks to have enough connections to all of our branch circuit protection devices. I've attached a sample image as well - the sizes listed and number of devices don't really apply to this design, it's just an example. Each PDB will have at least 6 connections on each load side terminal.

NEC-UL508-A-QUESTION.png

I have a fused disconnect that has 2-port lugs for each phase where we are planning on running a 4/0 wire to each distribution block. From each distribution block will be multiple wires to each individual breakers or fuses depending on the circuit. The wires will be no smaller than 14AWG.

From what I've read, it seems like the 4/0 needs to be sized to handle the total 400A (600mcm) to each distribution block and also I can't have the 'load side' conductors of the distribution blocks without the need for an overcurrent device ahead of the distribution block. Am I correct in that thinking? I'm pretty new on this side of things and want to get this right since a lot of our old designs follow this same setup.

This will be a UL 508A panel. I think the above is a violation of the NEC but I'm not sure if it's a violation of 508A.

tortuga

Code Historian
Occupation
Electrical Design
First off were just talking ' Internal wiring' inside a single piece of 508A equipment, no 'Feild wiring ' branch circuits or feeders constructed by electricians? And I am no expert but, for starters you cannot tap a tap.
Each tap needs to end in a OCPD.
UL 508A said:
32.3 Sizing of overcurrent protection
32.3.1 The size of the overcurrent protection shall not exceed:
a) The rating of the largest branch circuit protective device in the circuit plus the full-load