"Green" multi-family rental dwelling desires outdoor EV ready outlets per apartment

Status
Not open for further replies.

dinotone

3 family home being totally gutted/rehabbed. My client desires outdoor outlets installed to be prepared for EV chargers. Im not an EV expert, but been searching forums and now considering installing outdoor NEMA 14-50 receptacles, supposedly all current EV cars can utilize. Appreciate advice from those that know more in this space.

retirede

There are level 2 chargers that specify a 60A circuit. I would run the circuit and install a blank cover on the box. The proper receptacle can be installed once the charger is chosen.

GeorgeB

ElectroHydraulics engineer (retired)
Occupation
Retired
I'm on the ignorant side, neither an electrician nor an EV owner. But I'd suggest considering a 1" or 1-1/4" conduit to a large box. The guy who would like to charge a golf cart or who wants to charge a 2025 Tesla should be able to make it happen. I would not install the breaker, but evaluate alternatives allowing up to 100A in the future.

hbiss

EC, Westchester, New York NEC: 2014
Occupation
EC
^^I agree.^^

This question comes up for debate here almost once a week. There really is no good answer because there are several charger options at the moment and technology is quickly changing. There is talk of a 1000A charger, probably to get charge time down to what it currently takes to fill up with gas. Tesla talks of solar.

Each tenant will be responsible for their own usage. How will you figure service size now for future requirements?

About the only good thing you have going for you is that this is new work and only three units. Usually the questions are from people who want to install chargers for existing multi-unit housing where likely the POCO won't even be able to supply the total load if every unit owner demands a charger.

-Hal

hillbilly1

Occupation
Owner/electrical contractor