GFCI sub-panel feed to avoid GFCI circuit breakers in sub-panel?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DH Electric Co

Electrons, Chess, Bacon & Broads.
Occupation
Electrician
This may be a stupid question, but honestly I'm still learning all the new codes with these breakers & where required.

40 years experience here, and feel dumber than a cub sometimes with "the times a changin'" ;-)

Also, the NEC isn't what it was when I learned the trade [mid 80's] & I get lost with all the current changes.

So the question:
I have to add a sub-panel to an existing 200 amp residential 40 circuit panel, the panel doesn't allow "minis" or "tandems" for extra branch circuits.
The homeowner also wants TVSS on the service [2 circuits spaces there], plus 3-4 new branch circuits for a home theatre he built.
So a sub-panel is in order.
I will lose 4 full size spaces in main panel, 2 for TVSS & 2 for sub-panel feed.
So 4 branch circuits from the main panel will now be in the sub-panel. + 4 new circuits.

The city doesn't require AFCI, just GFCI on branch circuits below grade [ie: basement finished or not].
So is it legal to GFCI the entire sub-panel with a 240 volt 60 amp or 70 amp breaker to avoid multiple GFCI branch circuit breakers in the panel, or putting in GFCI receptacles all over the theatre for different circuits? One stop shopping so to speak?

And if someone smarter than me could point me to the correct code that cover this?

I'm still tabbing my new code book and feeling old when I go to look something up & can't find it.

Thanks in advance for any help y'all can give me.

Dino

Ponchik

Occupation
Electronologist
I can't see any NEC code issues that prevents you from GFCI protecting the whole sub, but for sure not a good idea.

How many circuits do you need GFCI protection on? And what code cyle are you on?

DH Electric Co

Occupation
Electrician
I can't see any NEC code issues that prevents you from GFCI protecting the whole sub, but for sure not a good idea.