GFCI / GFI breaker problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

JACCO

ok this is my first time posting. here is the problem i have a panel box on a dock feed by a 2 pole 60 amp GFI breaker. when a new small live well is plugged into a receptacle which is feed from the dock panel the GFI breaker trips. but when the same live well is plugged into an outside GFI receptacle on the house the GFI receptacle holds. I should also say that the live well is on a 50 ' extension cord. i should also mention that other tools such as a heat gun was plugged into the dock receptacle it did not trip the GFI breaker. i know that is alot to take in really wondering what is going on . also the GFI on the house is working properly.

• :?

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
It is possible that the live well has a leakage to ground which is right in the 5ma area and therefore can either trip or not trip a normal GFCI breaker or receptacle unit depending on where those two things are within the manufacturing tolerance curve.

It is less likely be still possible that something about the environment (resting on conductive surface, etc.) is which the live well is placed could account for a difference in the leakage current.
And finally, if the 60 foot cord has capacitive or fault leakage in the low milliamp range that might make the difference of whether the total leakage in the protected circuit, including the live well, is above or below the GFI/GFCI threshold.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
How far away from the panel is the 60 amp GFCI? What other loads are connected when the GFCI trips? It could just be the the cumulative leakage current on the feeder conductors, assuming that the 60 amp breaker is remote from the panel, and the other loads is close to the trip point and the leakage from the live well is enough to cause the trip.

Haji

Banned