GEC to copper water service question

Status
Not open for further replies.

jc2254

Hi All,

I am not an electrician. I am a facilities manager. I understand that the GEC must be attached to the water service before the first shut off valve.My first question is can I install a die-electric union after the valve? Second question,Do all of the copper pipes in a building need to be grounded via this GEC connection. Third question,Can I use a seperate grounding conductor that would be attached to the copper pipes that are on the interior of the building that would be connected to grounding rods?

russ

Re: GEC to copper water service question

Article 250.4(A)(4) Bonding of Electrical Conductive Materials and Other Equipment.

Electrically conductive materials that are likely to become energized shall be conected together and to the electrical supply source in a manner that estblishes an effective ground-fault current path.

Most inspectors require the water pipe to have jumpers around water meters, valves, and die electric unions.
Also refer to Artcle 250.52

The ground rods can be added to the waterpipe, but you must also be bonded to the ground that is bonded to the service neutral.

Russ

[ July 04, 2003, 09:45 AM: Message edited by: russ ]

websparky

Also;

The GEC must be attached within the first 5' of entrance of the water supply. Then install a "jumper" around the metering devices.

If adding additional ground rods throughout the building, they all also must be bonded to all existing electrodes.

Dave

dereckbc

Staff member

JC2254

1. You can add a dielectric fitting to valve, but you would have to install a bonding jumper around it, so there is no point adding the dielectric.
2. All the pipes in you plant have to be bonded in case of accidental contact with energized circuits.
3. You can add as many grounding rods as you wish to make a ground electrode system. But they all have to be bonded to make a electrode system, not separate systems.