GE Breaker Panel TM2010

Status
Not open for further replies.

AFJES

Have to install a two pole breaker for an oven hook up.
Panel is full and trying to find on the internet if this particular panel (see pics below) are rated for tandem breakers. Trying to save a good customer money by not putting in a sub-panel.
I have not been able to find this panel on the Net; although I am not very good at finding things. Not quite sure which numbers indicate the panel number. TM2010 TM2010C or the other numbers.
Also, the label is covered by many wires and it is quite difficult to get a good picture of it without my finger in the way to hold back the wires for a view.
Anyone have a cross-reference list or can point me to something on the net to assist me. Thanks so much.
20150913_100448.jpg

20150913_100506.jpg 20150913_101257.jpg

curt swartz

Electrical Contractor - San Jose, CA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Definitely not rated for tandems. GE has not even made a tandem breaker in 40+ years. They use a thin wafer style breaker (THQP) that requires a special buss connection which your panel does not have.

bphgravity

Have your performed a load calculation to ensure the service and equipment has the capacity for the additional load?

Perhaps there are a couple of 15A or 20A multi-outlet branch-circuits that can be "doubled-up" to free up two spaces in the panelboard?

norcal

Definitely not rated for tandems. GE has not even made a tandem breaker in 40+ years. They use a thin wafer style breaker (THQP) that requires a special buss connection which your panel does not have.

The panel may accept THQP breakers on the lower part of the panel it's certainly not possible to use a twin breaker in that panel in a code compliant manner, only the OP can verify or disprove that by removing a breaker to see if it will accept a THQP on the bottom or finding the label buried in the panel.