For those of you who have done big jobs...

Status
Not open for further replies.

vilasman

I am currently a newly minted master electrician and because of knowing the right people, my first contracts as a newly minted master will be 3 homes each of which will be sold at at least a million dollars. I managed this by straighten out the screw up's of 2 other E.C.'s in a million dollar house. I was talking to the master who got me to the point of becoming a master today about big jobs that he had done, and he told me that the biggest was an 80 unit, garden style apartment complex. And of course decided that a job on this level was were I wanted to go.
Now here's the question, If all goes as planned I will be doing somewhere between 20-30 , million dollar homes over the course of the next 3-5 years. The customers are there, lot's for 9 of the homes, are under contract and the real estate agent is hot on the case of finding more.
If you have traveled, what did you do, or would you have done, so that when you got to the end of the 5 years, or got to a certain level finacially, or the bottom fell out of the deal, so that you could move on the next step?
Be it doing a large project or just if the deal fell apart early, continuing on after the goose that laid the golden eggs stopped laying for what ever reason.

charlie tuna

Re: For those of you who have done big jobs...

the first mistake in your thinking is planning years ahead --- guess what---the economy changes. and your prices and profit changes with that! and don't ever forget to never ---ever---put all your eggs in one basket! you need to branch out into different facets of the industry. housing is just one facit---but it is also a very soft market and can change very fast. my $.02..................

vilasman

I get what you are saying about the residential housing market being soft...
cant argue that, here in the wash metro area we tend to get a big turnover of people with big salaries every 4 years...