Fluorescent lights and occupancy sensors

Status
Not open for further replies.

MattG0311

Occupation
Apprentice Wireman
Can someone please explain why occupancy sensors and electronic ballasts/CFLs don’t work well together? Switch activates, 120v flows to CFL, and it doesn’t work or doesn’t work correctly. Why? Is it a power quality issue coming off the electronics of the occupancy sensor?

MattG0311

Occupation
Apprentice Wireman
I have twice seen issues with motion sensors paired to electronic ballasts not functioning correctly. Primarily flickering and strobing when the motion sensor is activated, or glowing dimly when it is not. Changing out to incandescents or removing the switch fixes the problem.
I know some occupancy switches or ceiling mounted motion sensors are not rated for use with CFLs, but why aren’t they compatible? Shouldn’t 120v off the switch leg activate any light? All I can think is a lag in current off the switch’s solid state circuitry.
I am still an apprentice and am just diving into AC theory. If anyone else has seen this first hand or can explain what I’m broadly generalizing I would greatly appreciate it.

synchro

Occupation
EE
Although I haven't seen data on it, I suspect that motion sensors which require a connection to neutral should be more tolerant of the type of load because they don't have to rely on the load current to power up some of the internal electronics.

An incandescent bulb such as Larry suggested can draw enough current with a relatively low voltage applied across it to adequately power up the sensor's electronics, but with the filament still not hot enough to cause a visible glow. The is often not the case with LED and CFLs which typically have a very nonlinear current vs. applied voltage, especially at lower applied voltages. These devices can have a visible glow even at very low current levels where the sensor may be operating on a marginal basis.

Fred B

Occupation
Electrician