Electric Range Wiring

Status
Not open for further replies.

bwanye

I'm not an electrician nor do I claim to be. I work at a electrical sales store. I've had multiple questions about moving an electrical range in a kitchen and how to add wire to an existing range service. So far I've told everybody to consult the electrical inspector on how to handle the problem. But I've never found out what the solution is. I assume that you can add wire to the existing wire as long as your connection are within a properly sized box. I've also assumed that you must use some sort of butt connector to make the connection between the wires. If anybody has additional details I would appreciate it.

electricman2

Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Re: Electric Range Wiring

As each installation is unique, I would advise anyone who asks to consult a qualified electrician to make any necessary extensions to existing circuit.

peter d

I was in the same situation as you for 7 months.

I worked at a supply counter and was constantly bombarded with "How do I hook up/install/repair/ etc?" type of questions.

My standard reply: "Company policy forbids me from giving advice. If you do something wrong, we could held liable. Please consult an electrician."

Often times people would get upset or angry but I didn't care. During the last hurricane scare, people would come in with a cord with two male ends on it ("What kind of outlet do I need to connect this to?") :roll: , or wanted to get the parts to backfeed into their dryer outlet. :eek:

My advice to you would be the same that I gave to everyone else: Ask an electrician.

j7david