Concrete Trenches

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am an electrical engineer working in San Jose, Costa Rica. We try to apply NEC in Costa Rica as much as local conditions permit.

It is standard prectice here to do concrete trenches within electrical rooms (in the floor) and then do feeders between panelboards using those trenches. Some sort of cable tray will usually be installed inside the trench and the cable would be laid on top of the trench.

Would this be and acceptable practice per NEC?
What would be the limitations on cable gauge that could be installed there?
What would be the limitations on the cross section?

I thank you for your help.

Smart $

Esteemed Member
manuel bonilla said:
I am an electrical engineer working in San Jose, Costa Rica. We try to apply NEC in Costa Rica as much as local conditions permit.

It is standard prectice here to do concrete trenches within electrical rooms (in the floor) and then do feeders between panelboards using those trenches. Some sort of cable tray will usually be installed inside the trench and the cable would be laid on top of the trench.

Would this be and acceptable practice per NEC?
What would be the limitations on cable gauge that could be installed there?
What would be the limitations on the cross section?

I thank you for your help.

Yes, it is acceptable. Read Article 390: Underfloor Raceways and Article 392: Cable Trays...

...but I hope you meant the cable would be laid on the cable tray in the trench :D

Last edited:
So, in your opinion, would it be limited by cable type and cable fill as stated in article 390 or as stated in article 392?

(Yes, cable is in the trench, on top of the cable tray. Trench has a metal cover. "Walls" of trench would be exposed concrete)

Smart $

Esteemed Member
manuel bonilla said:
So, in your opinion, would it be limited by cable type and cable fill as stated in article 390 or as stated in article 392?