combo starter/disconnect - can the "starter" component be ignored?

malachi constant

I am a consulting engineer and am admittedly ignorant on the finer points of motor controls. Got a question from a contractor this week. My electrical plans called for a combo starter/disconnect for a 5HP 208V/3P motor. The EC has the combo on site, but the motor came with a control cabinet with an integral starter. The EC is suggesting they need to toss the combo and purchase a straight up 30A/3P non-fused disconnect.

My instinct is the combo can still be used, just the starter put in "hand" mode or whatever. This has been a good contractor to work with but they've been "uncertain" when facing the occasional motor schedule oddities. Not in a greedy way, I just get the feeling most contractors know more than I do about these things, and that may not be the case here.

Your collective thoughts are appreciated!

David Castor

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
I would never use a non-fused disconnect switch for motor disconnect, regardless. Maximum SC rating is 10 kA.

If the combination starter you bought includes a magnetic trip only circuit breaker, then you can't use it upstream, IMO. If the starter provided with the equipment includes short circuit protection (CB or fuse disconnect) and it is in sight of the motor, you don't really need anything upstream except a feeder breaker at the source.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
I would just forget the combo starter and run a circuit direct to the control panel it came with, if the control panel has some kind of disconnecting means.

If it does not maybe the unfused switch is in order if as another poster mentioned it meets the sccr required. Otherwise fused

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer