Codes for inspections and safety

Status
Not open for further replies.

Twophase

I am reviewing a number of IEC and VDE standards (European) regarding installation safety and inspection of installations. I am relatively new to the NEC, and notice that juristictions often use their own codes anyways. Regarding these European codes, do we have a series of equivalent codes in the US? I did find a few UL codes for installation safety (hazardous locations UL 1203, panel standard UL508A, etc). Would the NEC be the inspection standard (since we do not know what the local standards are)?

Thanks!

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems
Just like Europe, we have more than one set of standards, so there is no single answer. What are you actually looking to do?

UL does not have codes, it has standards that deal with product design and manufacturing, but it is fairly vague on the specifics of how to install those products.

NFPA has a whole lot of different standards that do deal with installation and safety. This may be you best place to look, but relatively few of them are required by any type of code or law.

NFPA 70 (the NEC) is a code for the installation of premises wiring. It is a 'what needs to be done' not a 'how to do it' standard, for example it might say a conduit needs to be supported, but it does not say how it must be done.

Coppersmith

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
The code is a model standard for electrical installation which has been adopted in almost all areas of the US and some foreign countries. Each jurisdiction is free to make local provisions that override or add to the NEC. This is rare. From the National Electrical Code:

90.1 Purpose.
(A) Practical Safeguarding. The purpose of this Code is the
practical safeguarding of persons and property from hazards
arising from the use of electricity. This Code is not intended as a
design specification or an instruction manual for untrained
persons.