Click here to feel smart

Status
Not open for further replies.
Occupation
Marine electrician
Hello, I'm a fake electrician. I work on commercial steel hull boats. I've done this for about five years. It's something I just kind of fell into.

Before this I did a little bit of residential work. I always tried to do the best job I knew how to. But, I've learned entirely on the job, and marine electric isn't quite the same. Uses different cable, different standards. Very often devices get hull grounds instead of dedicated panel grounds (this scares me)

I've worked on a wide range of equipment, from 480v 3 phase motor control centers to staterooms in floating hotels, from low voltage alarm systems to VFD drives and generators. 90% of what I do is troubleshooting. But that 10% of new installations is starting to grow, and I want to know the best way to do things.

I am constantly faking it. I do the best job I can with the knowledge I have, but I see new things every day. I am frequently humbled.

I would like to learn the best way to do things. Maybe even sit for a test and try and join a union hall, if they'll have me. I am definitely going to buy one of these massive education packages - and a DVD player! But I'm not sure if I should even aim to sit for the exam.
--
Here are my questions

In Pittsburgh the "Test" is a Pearson Vue F-16 (uses NEC 2014 handbook) or W-16 (uses NEC 2011) handbook.
Source

1. Should I just learn the 2020 code if I plan on sitting for the test?
1.1 How often do cities/municipalities update their code standard to the current NEC?

Both these exams are masters exams, and that's the "entry level" exam, which doesn't really make sense to me, if journeymen exist in the world.
2. How can this be?

3. Do any states have reciprocity between them for licensing? Of course it will be easier to sit for a national exam the second time, but - besides that, does it get any easier?