Chief's Reg 4 testing in LA

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kmg365

Hello. I am new to the forum. I have been a fire alarm technician for approx. 17 years. I've done new installs, worked as a programmer, service technician, and most recently managed a service department. I am looking for a change, and would like to increase my value by obtaining a license to be a Certified tester for the Chief's Regulation 4.
I would appreciate any advice or information regarding this process. And, I would also like to get an idea of what the average hourly rate for a Reg 4 tester is.
Thanks in advance for any help y'all might have.

RumRunner

Occupation
Retired EE
Hello. I am new to the forum. I have been a fire alarm technician for approx. 17 years. I've done new installs, worked as a programmer, service technician, and most recently managed a service department. I am looking for a change, and would like to increase my value by obtaining a license to be a Certified tester for the Chief's Regulation 4.
I would appreciate any advice or information regarding this process. And, I would also like to get an idea of what the average hourly rate for a Reg 4 tester is.

I'm not sure what Chief's Reg 4 testing is that is required by City of LA.

From your post I gather that this activity is mostly about low voltage wiring-- in which case,it would fall under the scope of C10 license issued by CA State License Board (CSLB). A general Electrical Contracting License.

I'm a C10 license holder and I'm not required to take any test for this activity (as most C10 Holders are). If a C10 holder intends to do this in addition to regular electrical work , the board sends a Yes and No questionnaire where you submit along with a small fee. Specialty contractor like this still requires supervision by C10 holder--but you can still run the business under the umbrella of a C10 holder.