Charge “Half-Day” or “Full-Day”

Status
Not open for further replies.

Another C10

Electrical Contractor 1987 - present
Occupation
Electrician NEC 2020
So you get the same per hour when you quote wiring a house vs say installing a 1000A commercial service?
pretty much .. if a house takes 24 hrs and a 1000A Service takes 24 hrs whats the difference, although I'd make more money on the 1000A service products used through practical markups.

That's like saying to a mechanic that's rebuilding my engine or replacing my break system should have different labor rates ... no, the engine will take much longer chances are therefor costing me that much more.

Billing is up to the installer. Now if I was an instrumentation expert I'd probably have an hourly rate much higher, because I may only be there for 1 hour and the knowledge I'd have based on the extensive training would justify such a charge, like a lawyer they charge 300.00 per hour for talking.

True ... that's why I dont bother anymore trying to compete with track home bids, there is plenty of work in many other facets of our industry.

I am not even talking tract homes, I meant custom homes. I just have a hard time imagining someone using the same hourly figure across the spectrum of different jobs - some things pay better than others. Recently I did a home for a bout 20k, ballpark 200 hours, 10 materials, so that is $50 hr. I did a 480V three phase 200A service, 2 grand materials tops, think I charged them $7500. Took me like 30 hours = $183/hr.

Another C10

Electrical Contractor 1987 - present
Occupation
Electrician NEC 2020
Recently I did a home for a bout 20k, ballpark 200 hours, 10 materials, so that is $50 hr. I did a 480V three phase 200A service, 2 grand materials tops, think I charged them $7500. Took me like 30 hours = $183/hr.
The 200A Service was a killer Job, I'd say stay away from the 50.00 hr jobs because between the 2 jobs at 27,500 - 3,000 mat. you made 106.52 hr, still better than my rate.