Center grounded Delta to 3 phase exhaust fan

Status
Not open for further replies.

kwired

Electron manager
No different that connecting a motor to any other 3 phase supply. Does not matter where the high leg goes on the motor. Just like any other, if the rotation is wrong just swap any 2 leads. It should be mentioned that your high leg should be in the middle position in panels breakers, starters, etc..
When the grounded conductor is also present it is required as well to be identified typically with orange markings of some sort.

Run a feeder or branch circuit to supply a three phase load with no neutral at all - doesn't matter where the high leg lands or if you even identify it as the high leg.

kwired

Electron manager
I’m looking to wire a Three phase motor from a center grounded delta with a high leg. I’m not very experienced with center grounded deltas. There’s no wiring diagram on the motor. The wires have been disconnected by a previous electricIan. I wanted more information on how to wire the motor.
Do you know how to wire the motor for the applied volts or is this also something you know little or nothing about. Often smaller three phase motors are "dual voltage" and can be wired for 208-230 or for 460.

kwired

Electron manager
I can't imagine anyone following this rule and changing the rotation at the motor for that very reason. Part of my substantial for my PI to add an exception so that motor circuit conductors did not have to comply with this was that no matter what the code language says. the rotation will be changed at the motor starter, and a rule that is not going to be complied with does not belong in the code.