Center grounded Delta to 3 phase exhaust fan

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kevin15640

Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
I’m looking to wire a Three phase motor from a center grounded delta with a high leg. I’m not very experienced with center grounded deltas. There’s no wiring diagram on the motor. The wires have been disconnected by a previous electricIan. I wanted more information on how to wire the motor.

texie

Occupation
Electrician, Contractor, Inspector
No different that connecting a motor to any other 3 phase supply. Does not matter where the high leg goes on the motor. Just like any other, if the rotation is wrong just swap any 2 leads. It should be mentioned that your high leg should be in the middle position in panels breakers, starters, etc..

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
So ... not just any two leads, except at the motor itself.
With the change in the scope of Article 210 in the 2017 code to include motor circuit conductors, in a building with more than one voltage system, the rotation change must always be made at the motor. I expect that this is not enforced and no one actually changes motor rotation at the motor.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
With the change in the scope of Article 210 in the 2017 code to include motor circuit conductors, in a building with more than one voltage system, the rotation change must always be made at the motor. I expect that this is not enforced and no one actually changes motor rotation at the motor.
Usually easier to get at the wires on the contactor.

epelectric33

Occupation
Electrical Consulting/Inspection/Master
I am unfamiliar with this requirement that rotation change must be made at the motor. Can you please provide the specific article that requires this. Thank you.

drcampbell

Occupation
Registered Professional Engineer