Business Tips/Advice Welcome

Status
Not open for further replies.

romex jockey

Occupation
electrician
I was told long ago 'a spark does not a biz man make' , but had to live it to realize it.

On a positive note , a good accountant has proven to be well worth the investment

I'd have been making little rocks outta big ones some time ago, for lack of one

~RJ~

ImSeanKennedy

New User
Hey dude! I'm also a recently licensed master electrician in the state of WI (Milwaukee metro) who is considering starting my own business. I appreciate the questions you're asking as they are exactly what I came here to ask myself :LOL: . Good luck!

Eli1211

Occupation
Electrician
Thanks man, if you do decide to do your own thing we should exchange info. I am learning it is always good to have contacts and people to collaborate with when needed. I recently helped another small company with a 200 amp service upgrade, good to have contacts. Thanks for the advice on McCormick AC/DC, I'll check it out.

James L

Occupation
Electrician
Seems most business tips only deal with how to set your prices. But there's a whole lot more to it.

The single biggest issue Ive experienced, and seen in others, is getting the job done.

Whether you're working for a remodeling company that keeps you busy 70% of the time, or have a solid customer base, remember that people who want you to do their work almost never consider that at some point you have to be on a job site swinging a hammer. Here's some stuff I've learned....

1) don't feel obligated to answer your phone every time it rings. Like my mom used to say - if it's important, they'll leave a message. Call back when it's more convenient for you. My phone greeting says "for a faster response, please text me". Even that doesn't guarantee an immediate resoinse. But you can quickly see if it's emergency level or not.