Business Tips/Advice Welcome

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eli1211

Occupation
Electrician
I am a newly Licensed Master Electrician, I recently decided to go into business for myself. Yesterday, I spent what felt like a small fortune on a decent work van and I am filling it up with typical van stock this coming week. I have all my licensing and insurance required by the state of WI to be in business for myself as well. Monday morning, I have a meeting with a home remodeling contractor. This is my first meeting with a company that could potentially fill up my schedule in a significant way. Any advise from the guys here who have been in the trade for a while, met with a hundred companies, just any insight/tips would be appreciated. Thanks!

oldsparky52

First, CONGRATULATIONS!

I caution against having one contractor be almost all of your business.

Understand your costs, and make sure you charge enough. Being you are just coming into the business, you will be given "opportunities" in exchange for low pricing. If you load yourself up with low margin (or no margin) work, then you won't have time to do the highly profitable work that needs to be done now. If you do want to work at a discount to get in the door, instead of lowering your price, let the customer know what your real price is and then given them an opportunity discount. Same money, but you send the message this is not your normal price.

Try not to take a job you can't afford to not be paid for, or at least don't let the customer get so far out in payments that you cannot recover from being stiffed.

Create a retirement account (check out a SIMPLE IRA), and FUND IT!

You want to have holidays paid and vacation time paid, make sure you charge for it.

The customer is not always right, but the customer is always the customer.

Treat your customers the way you expect to be treated as a customer.

There are lots more others will post, I wish you the best of success.

oldsparky52