Air compressor for the fire suppression system

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tttam3

Occupation
Facilities Engineer, Site Operations.
I have worked in 4 Data Centers for the past 15 years. I am new to this Data center in OR, and this is the first time I have ever seen this done. As I was walking around doing the daily rounds, I noticed a tie-rap locking the switch in the closed position for the air compressor of the fire suppression system. The switch is about 30" from the door at a height of 4'. I have never seen a disconnect means locked in the closed/on position. One of the leads has indicated that this is legal for the fire system.

My question would be:
  • Is this legal?
Where can I find the information on this subject of locking a disconnect means in the closed/on position?

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
I don;'t know of specific NEC Code reference but I have worked in industrial facilities who carried Factor Mutual Insurance and they required to sprinkler air pump switches to be locked in the "on" position.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
Since switches/disconnects are not EPO's there is not a problem. Along with Gus's post I have had to lock EM switches in the closed position, only certain maintenance personnel had access to the keys

Roger

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
I have worked in 4 Data Centers for the past 15 years. I am new to this Data center in OR, and this is the first time I have ever seen this done. As I was walking around doing the daily rounds, I noticed a tie-rap locking the switch in the closed position for the air compressor of the fire suppression system. The switch is about 30" from the door at a height of 4'. I have never seen a disconnect means locked in the closed/on position. One of the leads has indicated that this is legal for the fire system.

My question would be:
  • Is this legal?