Advice on EV Charger Writing

Status
Not open for further replies.

baialyn

New User
Occupation
Engineer
My background is in digital electronics. However, an electrician I used to work with taught me a lot about home wiring over the years so I'm pretty comfortable with Romex and 120V circuits thanks to him.

But now my wife is getting an electric vehicle , and I need to run a 240V line for the charger. I want to make sure I don't fail inspection as I've never done anything with 240V other than a few sub-panels I've been the helper/observer on.

We have a very small, basic house in NJ (see image 1), a 100 AMP GE Panel that is FULL (Image 2) (and does not support thin breakers, Image 3) on the right side of the garage door and directly behind it, and I just want to run a 30AMP 240 Line to support a 24AMP charger over to the left of the door to mount the charger to the siding OUTSIDE. This is all we need for her car right now, and it's what I'm comfortable installing safely.

The inside of the garage is unfinished exposed studs.

Even on a high use day, it seems the amount of stuff we have in the house doesn't pull more than 60 amps at once (Image 4) so I don't think we are taxing the limits of the panel currently.

My questions were.... (and thanks in advance for anyone who can help, it is very much appreciated)

Wiring Questions

a) Can I just run 8 or 10 (I'd rather run 8) gauge Romex by itself for this, or do I have to use THHN in PVC and EMT conduit? While this cable would be inside the unfinished garage, the circuit will terminate through a hole in the wall to the outdoor-rated EV charger mounted on the siding outside.